The History Of Blackface and The End Of Aspiration

47:40
 
اشتراک گذاری
 

Manage episode 243975879 series 2427300
توسط Different Things Can Be Sad توسط Player FM و جامعه ما پیدا شده است - کپی رایت توسط ناشر، و نه متعلق به Player FM، و صدا به طور مستقیم از سرور های آنها پخش می شود.برای پیگیری به روز رسانی در Player FM دکمه اشتراک را بزنید، و یا فید URL را به دیگر برنامه های پادکست بچسبانید.

Happy Struggling Girl Fall! It's a term we've just made up that we think accurately describes the metaphorical mountain we had to climb to put our September 2019 episode together but HERE WE ARE! Please enjoy learning about the history of blackface and the end of aspiration. Please. It'll make our struggle worth it.

Reading

The Light We Lost by Jill Santopolo

'I was Caroline Calloway', The Cut: https://www.thecut.com/2019/09/the-story-of-caroline-calloway-and-her-ghostwriter-natalie.html

Watching

Schitt's Creek

Fleabag

Crashing

Tall Girl

Listening

Vampire Weekend

'I Warned Myself' by Charlie Puth

Politics

'Canada's Surprising History of Blackface', The Atlantic: https://www.theatlantic.com/ideas/archive/2019/09/canadas-surprising-history-of-blackface/598468/

'Blackface: The birth Of An American Stereotype', NMAAHC: https://nmaahc.si.edu/blog-post/blackface-birth-american-stereotype

'Justin Trudeau Isn't The Only One. Here's A List Of Politicians Who Got In Trouble Over Blackface', CNN: https://www.cnn.com/2019/09/20/us/politicians-in-blackface-list-trnd/index.html

'How did Canadians react to Trudeau's blackface photos? With a big meh, polls find', National Post: https://nationalpost.com/news/politics/election-2019/how-did-canadians-react-to-trudeaus-blackface-images-with-a-big-meh-polls-suggest

'On Justin Trudeau, Virginia Woolf, and the Orientalist History of Brownface', Literary Hub: https://lithub.com/on-justin-trudeau-virginia-woolf-and-the-orientalist-history-of-brownface/

'The Complicated History Of Canadian Blackface', The Tyee: https://thetyee.ca/Analysis/2019/09/20/Complicated-History-Canadian-Blackface/

'Justin Trudeau’s blackface incidents are part of a long history of racism in Canada', Washington Post: https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/2019/09/21/justin-trudeaus-blackface-incidents-are-part-long-history-racism-canada/

'Blackface has a long history in Canada - here's a look',: Global News: https://globalnews.ca/news/5926620/blackface-canada-history/

'On the back of blackness: contemporary Canadian blackface and the consumptive production of post-racialist, white Canadian subjects', Phillip Howard: https://www.tandfonline.com/doi/abs/10.1080/13504630.2017.1281113

'Timeline of Canadian Blackface Incidents', McGill: https://www.mcgill.ca/aapr/blackface-canada/timeline

Pop Culture

'Instagram Starts Test To Hide Number of Likes Posts Receive for Users in 7 Countries', TIME: https://time.com/5629705/instagram-removing-likes-test/

'TikTok time: why teens love the goofy social networking app with a billion downloads', Style: https://www.scmp.com/magazines/style/news-trends/article/3018661/tiktok-time-why-teens-love-goofy-social-networking-app

'Who Would I Be Without Instagram. An Investigation', The Cut: https://www.thecut.com/2019/09/who-would-tavi-gevinson-be-without-instagram.html

'Jonathan Van Ness of ‘Queer Eye’ Comes Out', The New York Times: https://www.nytimes.com/2019/09/21/style/jonathan-van-ness-hiv-memoir.html

'The Rolling Stone Interview: Taylor Swift', Rolling Stone: https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-features/taylor-swift-rolling-stone-interview-880794/?fbclid=IwAR0GRydFg95UVZoOFoh90OQVBwdBtQwMHsuKWsl1gp5J7MIRXjFtrZMmBy4

57 قسمت