The Istanbul Convention and Pandemic Art

1:02:59
 
اشتراک گذاری
 

Manage episode 269090336 series 2427300
توسط Different Things Can Be Sad توسط Player FM و جامعه ما پیدا شده است - کپی رایت توسط ناشر، و نه متعلق به Player FM، و صدا به طور مستقیم از سرور های آنها پخش می شود.برای پیگیری به روز رسانی در Player FM دکمه اشتراک را بزنید، و یا فید URL را به دیگر برنامه های پادکست بچسبانید.

We hope this episode *finds you well in these unprecedented times* and, y’know, that you like it! If you do and you want more Different Things Can Be Sad in your life, make sure to follow our podcast Instagram @dtcbspodcast, as well as our personal accounts @yazminelomax and @msclearwater.

Reading

On Beauty by Zadie Smith

Black Sunday by Tola Rotimi Abraham

So You Want To Talk About Race by Ijeoma Oluo

Watching

The Last Black Man in San Francisco (2019)

Michael Clayton (2007)

The Babysitters Club on Netflix

Listening

Women in Music Part III by Haim

Folklore by Taylor Swift

Politics

(If you’d like to skip this section, jump to 41:35)

Gender and Covid research: https://www.genderandcovid-19.org/

Turkey:

https://www.arabnews.com/node/1714741/middle-east

https://www.amnesty.org.uk/press-releases/turkey-convention-combating-violence-against-women-must-not-be-abandoned

http://bianet.org/english/male-violence/228290-istanbul-convention-what-is-it-what-is-it-not

Poland:

https://www.reuters.com/article/us-poland-politics/heightening-eu-frictions-poland-queries-pact-on-violence-against-women-idUSKCN24V1UU

https://www.dazeddigital.com/politics/article/49844/1/how-lgbtq-rights-are-under-threat-in-poland-and-how-to-help-fight-it

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-europe-53538205

https://www.coe.int/en/web/portal/-/poland-should-not-withdraw-from-the-istanbul-convention-says-secretary-general

Pop Culture

Rolling Stone article that explains why albums are being pushed back: https://www.rollingstone.com/pro/features/album-delays-caused-by-covid-19-973870/

Phoebe Bridgers’ New Yorker profile: https://www.newyorker.com/magazine/2020/05/25/phoebe-bridgers-frank-anxious-music

Cousin Greg’s pandemic song: https://variety.com/2020/music/news/succession-cousin-greg-nicholas-braun-song-antibodies-1234720585/

Grey’s Anatomy featuring coronavirus next season: https://ew.com/tv/greys-anatomy-season-17-coronavirus/

Newsletter recommendation! Maybe Baby by Haley Nahman: https://haleynahman.substack.com/

Not Without My Sister podcast: https://www.thewarren.ie/not-without-my-sister

Pants2Bags: https://www.instagram.com/pants2bags/?hl=en

Sundae Service: https://www.instagram.com/sundaeservice.nyc/?hl=en

58 قسمت